After completing this module, you will be able to:
- Manage and download applicant files
- View offer letters, background checks, and other sensitive files through the restricted files
- Edit applicant information
- Create notes and learn how to protect notes with sensitive information
- Your user role must have permission to view protected notes and view restricted files.
Managing Applicant Files and Notes
- Our applicant tracking system (ATS) makes it easy for you to keep track of your applicants. You can readily view and download resumes and cover letters, protect sensitive information, and monitor updates to an applicant’s profile.
Let’s get started by navigating to our files:
- From your ATS dashboard, click on one of your job listings.
- Select an applicant, and a screen with his or her information should pop up (see Figure 1.1).
- On the left-hand side, you will find tabs labeled Applicant Info, Files, Restricted Files, and Notes.
What can you find in Applicant Info, and can it be edited?
When an applicant applies, all of his or her contact information will appear in the Applicant Info tab. Here you will find the applicant's name, address (if you are collecting it), phone number, and email address, as well as the position for which he or she applied, where he or she heard about you, and the date he or she applied. If an applicant's information changes or you discover a typo, you can make changes by clicking on the pencil icon on the far right.
Clicking the pencil icon will take you to a screen where you can change the applicant's contact information. Be sure to click Save at the bottom before closing the screen.
What are ‘files’?
Files are documents uploaded by the applicant. These include his or her resume and cover letter, which you can download at any point.
What are ‘restricted files’?
Restricted files are any offer letters that were signed and returned to you or any background checks you ordered. Only the account owner and admin can view these files. If you have the ability to manage account details, you can change user permissions, allowing other user roles to see or not see protected notes.
What are notes?
The notes section allows you to track any action you take with the applicant. You can view status updates, rating changes, messages that have been sent and received, etc. You can see the date and the person who performed the action, and you can take and manage your own notes.
What’s the difference between a note and a protected note?
Notes track any action. Protected notes are only viewable by the account owner and admin. You may want to use a protected note for a sensitive topic that you don't want your entire team to see (e.g., salary negotiations). If you have the ability to manage account details, you can control whether other user roles can see protected notes.
To protect a note, check the box next to Protect Note and click Save Note.
1. You should protect your note when:
a. Discussing salary information
b. Conversing about your weekend plans
c. Documenting interview notes
d. Both a and c
2. To check who made a status update on an applicant, where would you look?
a. Protected Notes
c. Restricted Files
3. An applicant's contact information cannot be edited once it has been entered into the system.
ǝsןɐɟ˙q (3 sǝʇou ˙q (2 ɔ & ɐ ˙p (1 :sɹǝʍsuɐ